Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-13 - 4:01 p.m.

1-27-04

Before Japanese class today, I met Marie for dinner. It is always nice to chat with people who are in the same boat as me - first year and struggling to learn basic Japanese. We discussed our experiences with the re-contracting interview. In her interview, she was told that she needs to speak more Japanese at her elementary school. When she suggested that the board offer Japanese lessons to us while we sit in the board and do nothing in the summer, our boss looked perplexed. Both Marie and I are frustrated - our contract did not specify Japanese language but yet they act like it is a failing that we do not know it. Is there no way for me to do right here?

Class went as usual. As I packed up my stuff to leave, my teachers asked me if I was going to dinner. I said no, I had eaten before class. They asked where and I said a place at the train station next to the chocolate shop. And this was all in Japanese - broken and mangled but still an almost conversation in another language.

On the way to the train station, one of the other AETs had a break-down. She cried in front of the train station and I felt her pain. This place is grating - the daily shuffle to and from work wears down my defenses. It is hard to feel excited about life when exhaustion rules my free time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!